9.2 Excellent
http://www.campgroundreviews.com/regions/british-columbia

Shady Rest RV Park

Houston, British Columbia


3960 Drive In Road
Houston, British Columbia V0J 1Z2
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 32
Recent Rate: $$$$

Office Hours:

Seasonal Hours: May 10th - October 1st

Monday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Wednesday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Thursday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Friday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am - 10:00pm

Hours above shown for

Add Review

Latitude: 54.41518
Longitude: -126.63461

Elevation: 2059' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • 55+ Only 55+ Only no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly yes
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts no
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup yes
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) no
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • Public Phone Public Phone no
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup no
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
  • Rogers Cellular Provider Rogers
  • Telus Cellular Provider Telus
  • Bell Canada Cellular Provider Bell Canada
  • Shaw Cellular Provider Shaw
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store no
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault no
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access no
  • Playground Playground no
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails yes
  • Rec Room Rec Room no
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Beach Beach no
  • Biking Biking no
  • Boating Boating no
  • Golf Golf yes
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes no
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf no
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts yes
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an Campground totReviews’ member and not the views of CampgroundReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Shady Rest RV Park" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

21 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an Campground Reviews' member and not the views of CampgroundReviews.com

Review Count: 92
States Visited: 41
Helpful Reviews: 24

Date of Stay: August, 2018 - $32.00
Overall Rating:

One of the cleanest, nicest looking campgrounds we have ever been to....this park is big rig friendly and our spot along with all the others are big and level......the owners are a friendly couple that are there to please you.....the individual restroom/showers are very nice and clean, a lot like home with a lot of hot water...our cell service was very good and their WiFi is some of the best we've had at a campground....only got 2 ota channels.....the flower arrangements around the campground makes for a very beautiful place to stay....take the walk to the back of the campground and enjoy the view of the valley below and in the evenings or at night listen for the trains, not very noisy just a pleasant sound in a peaceful place....will definitely stay again if in the area.... We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
11
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open, Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Burn ban was in effect.....

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Shady Rest RV Park, owner at Shady Rest RV Park responded to this review

Smockey thank you for your review. When you buy a business and don’t give good service you won’t go very far.. if you do than people talk and the word gets around. That is our philoophy. We try our best to make your stay here as pleasant as possible. So if we make the park look nicer to upgrading our wifi to the best you’ve had at a Park,or help you with your RV than that is what we will do. Happy Camping

Review Count: 125
States Visited: 26
Helpful Reviews: 38

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $25.00
Overall Rating:

Friendly owners give this simple campground a good feel, and the WiFi was very reliable and refreshingly responsive. Gravel roads were easy to naviage. Our pull-thru site was very long, way more than enough for our 38' MH without unhooking our car. Water, sewer, and 30-amp electricity connections were convenient. We did not use the bathrooms or laundry. The price was right, and we considered it a very good value for what we paid. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Shady Rest RV Park, owner at Shady Rest RV Park responded to this review

Hi David sorry you did not enjoy our simple Campsite that much ,but we thank you for your review. We hope you have a good holiday

Review Count: 16
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $27.00
Overall Rating:

One of the nicest BC sites we stand in. Would of given it a 10 rating except the wi fi didn't work when we arrived. By morning it worked and was fast. Gravel sites with grass strips in between. Flowers everywhere. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Shady Rest RV Park, owner at Shady Rest RV Park responded to this review

Hi Mike thanks for staying with us and I hope you had a good trip when you left our park. And thanks for giving us a good review. I know telus is the only wifi provider where we are and they are soooo slow here. I wish we could get faster internet but that is what we have to deal with.oh and I wonder if you where here that one day that one camper hogged all the wifi with one of his electrical device. Unfortunately when this happened no one told me.. but than again if you where here when it was full it does slow down. I hope this experience does not stop you from coming back. Happy Camping

Review Count: 10
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $32.00
Overall Rating:

We arrived mid afternoon and the park was only about 1/2 full. We were greeted with someone who acted like our long lost relative. We were treated very well, didn't get a discount but the cost to stay was lower than we expected with such a beautiful park. The sites were gravel and perfectly level. The management was very friendly and helpful. A very quiet and serene park. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
back-in
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tips for other Campers:

Wouldn't take Good Sam discount, said too expensive. However, only a handful of GS parks are this nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Shady Rest RV Park

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $26.00
Overall Rating:

Convenient for an overnight stay with restaurant, motel, post office and small store. However, most of the overnight spots are tightly packed but are long enough for most RVs and towed or tower. Good restaurant on site. Dump is convenient and well marked. Staff friendly and accommodating. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Post office and small store adjacent to the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 31
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:

On our way to Prince Rupert and decided to stop in Houston at this park because of its goods reviews.

Well, the good reviews are bang on. From the friendly greeting at check-in to the superb layout and excellent service, we have nothing but good things to say. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
44
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

The town of Houston does not have much to offer but there are mechanical/tire service facilities, car wash, a couple restaurants to provide the basics.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 180
States Visited: 42
Helpful Reviews: 51

Date of Stay: May, 2016 - $30.00
Overall Rating:

We hadn't planned to stop in Houston but a broken fan motor a bit west of town, we turned around and limped here. What a pleasant surprise. Good hook-ups, 30A. Flowers, nicely-cut grass, a long, level rock site and the most pleasant owner you could imagine. Not knowing how long we might be here, I asked if the daily fee could be changed into a weekly fee if we stayed longer. Sure, she said. I'll be here. We would stay here again - but not for the same reason.
They have back-in sites in the shade but we chose a sunny pull-thru given our engine problems.
There are several trails in town and be sure to try Brewstirs. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Brewstirs for eating out and there are trails in town for walking. But you certainly want to have your picture taken by the world's biggest fly-fishing rod by the Visitor's Center. Quite the treat

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 139
States Visited: 46
Helpful Reviews: 25

Date of Stay: September, 2015 - $31.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed on one of their full service level pull-through sites. The utilities worked well and the Wi-Fi was very good. We also had good Verizon cell service. No cable or over the air TV service. The campground is easy to get in and out and about 2 miles from Houston. We would stay here again. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt, Grass

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Checkout the huge fishing rod in Houston and the nice park next to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 124
States Visited: 37
Helpful Reviews: 31

Date of Stay: August, 2015 - $31.00
Overall Rating:

This is a very nice park. Utilities worked well, staff was very nice, and park was quiet even thought it is a little close to the main road. Wifi worked very well. Park was clean and well maintained. A good stop and we would stay here again. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: June, 2015 - $31.00
Overall Rating:

Stayed here on our way to Alaska. Staff were very pleasant. Bathroom and showers were very clean. This campground was the highlight of our day with the beautiful flowers and many hummingbirds visiting the flowers and feeder. Overall a very pleasant place to stay. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 17
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2015 - $32.00
Overall Rating:

Super park, super restrooms, owners are super nice, what can I say, sorry to note they are trying to sell the place. Hope the new owners are as great. Lots of deer and some bears in the area. Wifi was excellent. We were in space 46. It's May 28 and on the way to Alaska. Mosquitoes are everywhere and were at the last two camp grounds so be prepared. Weather was cool so we parked in the open to help the wind blow some of the skeeters away,, did not help too much haha. Complete hook-ups, no cable, but able to get some local stations on the antenna. Water and electric a little far apart(no problem) just be aware when you park. I tried to go back to get the rear up and had to move up a foot. Pets will like the park lots of grass for them. Would stay here again, great overnighter. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
46
Site Surface
Gravel
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 7

Date of Stay: June, 2014 - $32.00
Overall Rating:

Nice place, easy access, clean, wide sites, fire pits, sun or shade, ultra clean individual restrooms with showers. Perfect for our 1 night stay. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 38
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: September, 2013 - $28.00
Overall Rating:

What a nice campground. Impeccably maintained. Pull through sites had lush grass, and the back-in sites were under the trees - very nice on warm September days. Beautiful dahlias greeting us as we drove in, although they were put to bed for the winter before we left. Owner was very nice, very friendly. Sites were level; hookups very good; Wi-Fi worked well; restrooms and laundry were very clean. Could not ask for more. We would go out of our way to stay here again. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

2 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 125
States Visited: 26
Helpful Reviews: 38

Date of Stay: August, 2013 - $28.00
Overall Rating:

The park is convenient to the highway, yet not particularly noisy, and our back-in site was nicely shaded by tall trees. Roads and sites are gravel, with grassy strips and/or trees between sites. Sites are level and plenty large enough for our motorhome with 2 slides. Water, sewer and electric hookups are convenient. Wi-Fi is strong and Internet access is fast. Bathrooms and showers are spacious and sparkling clean, and laundry is available. The price was a nice relief from the higher fees we've paid throughout Alaska and seems a decent value for the amenities provided. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

2 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 18
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: July, 2013 - $27.00
Overall Rating:

Everything said in previous posts! Clean, neat, manicured grass areas, perfect washrooms - just like home. Water good, electric stable, three broadcast TV channels (analog), sewer at ground level, Wi-Fi strong at sites (but typical of remote locations - not "fast"). This is one of those places you should "plan" to overnight at. If you "hammer" in from Jasper (400+ miles), it's a good place to spend a couple days recuperating - and Houston is a nice town in which to relax. If we get back to BC, this is a definite stop-over again. We camped at Shady Rest RV Park in a Motorhome.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Shady Rest RV Park

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Campground Map

Are you affiliated with Shady Rest RV Park ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your Campground Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;