5.6 Average
http://www.campgroundreviews.com/regions/california

Salinas / Monterey KOA

Prunedale, California


8710 Prunedale North Road
Prunedale, California 93907
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 85
Recent Rate: $$$$

Office Hours:

Monday: 8:30am - 8:00pm
Tuesday: 8:30am - 8:00pm
Wednesday: 8:30am - 8:00pm
Thursday: 8:30am - 8:00pm
Friday: 8:30am - 8:00pm
Saturday: 8:30am - 8:00pm
Sunday: 8:30am - 8:00pm

Hours above shown for Pacific Time Zone

Add Review

Latitude: 36.79071
Longitude: -121.66843

Elevation: 104' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping no
  • 55+ Only 55+ Only no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly yes
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Dump Station Dump Station no
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup yes
  • Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP)
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • Public Phone Public Phone no
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup yes
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar no
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available no
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip ?
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter no
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault no
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails no
  • Rec Room Rec Room yes
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing no
  • Beach Beach no
  • Biking Biking no
  • Boating Boating no
  • Golf Golf no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes yes
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf no
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts no
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access no

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an Campground totReviews’ member and not the views of CampgroundReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Salinas / Monterey KOA" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

33 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an Campground Reviews' member and not the views of CampgroundReviews.com

Review Count: 51
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: September, 2018 - $64.00
Overall Rating:

Served our purpose, when needed a layover to get car repairs done. Just a parking lot with hookups, but no issues with the power or the water. Standard tire damage spikes at exit, but set in deep ditch. Beware you don't hit it to hard. We bottomed out the 1st time. Mgmt was helpful & accommodating to our need for adjacent site. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers

Site Details

Site Number
130
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my travel trailer
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Prunedale is a suburb of Salinas which has everything. Safeway/Starbucks are across 101 from the Park. Manager recommended Mountain Mike's Pizza. Decent salad bar, but pizza nothing really special.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 34
States Visited: 19
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: July, 2018 - $65.00
Overall Rating:

This is a very tired KOA property. The bathrooms are outdated (there are signs saying they're going to be remodeled), none of the doors in the women's restroom locked or latched. The back-in entry was uneven and even though our rig is only 25 feet, we scraped the bottom getting in because of that, plus the spaces were right on top of each other with no room in between. The internet was pretty much non existent and when I mentioned it the next day they said it was out last night but good today, it was not and this was mid-day when it's doubtful others were streaming movies. Aside from the substandard internet, my other biggest complaint would be that they have roosters and chickens wandering around the campsites and they start crowing WAY before sun-up (4:00am). Ridiculous! We stayed here because of the proximity to the Salinas Sports Complex but we would not stay here again. I realize not all KOA's are equal, but this was a real disappointment. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
108
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Back in
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 28
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: May, 2017 - $63.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed here because it was convenient to Monterey and Pinnacles National Park. We were in a section with units positioned to pull in from opposite ends so we shared connection locations. The space was rather tight and almost all asphalt. Unlike other spots, since we faced our neighbors, it wasn't very private. The bathrooms need upgrading and management says they are planning that. The laundry was great. Wi-Fi was not usable but Verizon 4G was fine. It served our purpose for the location but not really that pleasant. They said they are upgrading the power which is needed as we lost power the last night. The entry driveway is a tight turn and steep so follow their directions if you have a big rig. We were close to the 101 highway so noisy. Like many RV parks today, there were a number of permanent or semi-permanent residents. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
140
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my travel trailer
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

The location is great for accessing Monterey and Pinnacles. We enjoyed the Elkhorn Slough Reserve.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

SalinasMontereyKOA, manager at Salinas / Monterey KOA responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at our campground. Unfortunately you stayed on a night when we lost power but the problem was a transformer which caused an old line spliced by our power company to blow which is what took so long to restore the power. We had to wait for them to respond. We are glad the rest of facilities filled the need you had during your stay. Thanks again for sharing.

Review Count: 35
States Visited: 18
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: March, 2017 - $74.00
Overall Rating:

What a great little park! Despite heavy storm damage, the maintenance staff has been working hard to clean up downed trees and make each RV site nice. Our site, the best one in the place, has a side deck and back deck, all for the price. Management and workers are friendly and helpful. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
156
Site Surface
Concrete, Asphalt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Conveniently close to Salinas, Monterey, Santa Cruz, and the bay area. Right off of Hwy 101, which creates road noise, but not a deal breaker.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

SalinasMontereyKOA, manager at Salinas / Monterey KOA responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience. We have been working hard to make our park beautiful again after the series of storms that have hit our area. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you as our guest again soon. Thanks again!

Featured Campgrounds Near Salinas / Monterey KOA

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: November, 2016 - $1.00
Overall Rating:

This is a campground that needs some improvements. Our space was tight for our 40' Class A, but we managed to back it in. The problem was electrical supplies. Luckily we have a Hughes Autoformer and a Progressive Industries 50 amps EMS. Despite having the Autoformer to boost voltage, we saw power drop down to 105 volts. I went to the office after shutting down all power to the rig and they quickly sent an electrician to diagnostic the problem. He was unable to fix the issue and we spent the night without power. It was cold in late November.

In the morning we moved to another location that became available and the management agreed to refund our stay. Nice and friendly management, but watch out for electrical supply in some spots. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Not big enough for my motorhome
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Not Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

SalinasMontereyKOA, manager at Salinas / Monterey KOA responded to this review

Thanks for bringing it to our attention. We are sorry to hear you had issues with the power during your stay. We have made significant upgrades to our services and those issues should not happen again. We also apologize for the space issues. Our park was designed when RV's were significantly smaller. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Review Count: 42
States Visited: 18
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $40.00
Overall Rating:

Excellent location - some traffic noise from highway, but when you're from the country will always hear the noise! Good sites, very clean, and convenient to local attractions! Would stay here again. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
35
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 45
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 10

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $50.00
Overall Rating:

VERY steep entry into park. Tight turn onto park road, tight turns and steep hills within park. That said, obviously an older park but very well kept and nice friendly staff. We were in 135, probably best site for getting in and out of, others were fairly tight, but all were doable with patience. Sites were pretty close together, but weather was exquisite, especially after three days through the desert! Great central location to see the sights. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
135
Site Surface
Asphalt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open, Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Go see Monterey Bay, the cannery row, and fisherman's wharf.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 18
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: October, 2014 - $50.00
Overall Rating:

Although we were a little reluctant to stay due to some prior park ratings, we were quite glad that we decided to. We got lucky and were placed in the back row along the tree line and away from the the highway. We could still hear traffic but it was not distracting. They have a very nice pool area and although it was quite warm when we were visiting, the water was very cool. Too cold for these old bones. It is obviously an older park with a very unique layout. They explained that this is not a "destination park" but more for convenient stops en route to other areas. We stayed for 6 nights and did not regret it at all. Our only problem was with the 30 amp electric. We had to be very careful and if the A/C was on, we tried to keep everything else off or it would pop. Other than that, it was a delightful stay. The area is very interesting and not far from the coast. We explored from Moss Landing down through Lucia south of Big Sur. The Old Fishermans Wharf at Monterey Bay was a real highlight of this visit. If you are just traveling through, I would recommend this as a good place to stop. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 33
States Visited: 16
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: July, 2014 - $50.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed here one night driving from Northern California to Southern California. Things were tight with a 24 foot RV. We had a pull through space and our slide was about 1 ft from our neighbor's slide. The park is on a hill and our spot had a great view of Rt 101 traffic. The check in lady was great. We couldn't join the park's WiFi the entire time we were there. It was fine for an over night spot. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Motorhome.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: April, 2014 - $43.00
Overall Rating:

The staff was friendly. The location is great, but the sites are not big-rig friendly. We were in a pull-thru which was extremely narrow. Our 38ft RV had one slide touching the fence and the other side was touching the picnic table. Getting in and getting out were both challenging worrying that the back end would “wag’ over and knock the service post. In fact a 5th wheel two sites over was damaged coming in to its site. We will not be staying here again as we did not see a better site in the park. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 11
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: October, 2013 - $50.00
Overall Rating:

We wanted to visit Monterey, and this was the closest RV park that didn't charge a ludicrous nightly rate. First the good news: friendly, helpful staff, everything clean and well maintained. Shopping and gas very close. Now, the rest of the story: This park is right next to a very Loud stretch of Hwy 101, complete with big rigs hitting Jake brakes, and a serious Harley and cafe-racer infestation. The back-in sites 106-120 are a bit less cramped and a little further from the freeway. Also, their much-hyped pool is Seasonal, Summer only We missed it by a week, even though the weather was still very warm (80's) while we were there. I don't see us ever using this place again. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 65
States Visited: 16
Helpful Reviews: 12

Date of Stay: September, 2013 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

This is a very good basic KOA. The pads are paved, level, and the hook-ups are well placed. The room in between rigs especially the pulls throughs for the bigger rigs is close, but not unreasonable. The cable TV is very good, the WI-FI is mediocre to poor. Since the park is in a hilly area, the sites for smaller rigs and back-ins for bigger rigs ascends a hill. As you go up the hill the pads are still level but you get further away from the rest room/shower facility. Towards the end of the park you’re probably 175 yards away from those facilities and you have to climb a flight of stairs to get to them. The pool and laundry room are also up the hill. This park is a good base to explore the Monterrey area, Pinnacles National Park (both east and west side) and the Missions in the area. The park is very clean and well maintained. We stayed here in a 36' fifth wheel and there was a 40' class us next to us. Room to maneuver was adequate. You do get a lot of road noise from the 101 since your about 1/2 from it. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Fifth Wheel.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 46
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 13

Date of Stay: July, 2013 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

Great staff. Perfect place for one night stay, freeway close. Level blacktop sites. Road noise minor and not an issue. Close to ocean towns and other attractions like the rodeo. Will stay here again if in area. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2012 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

Host was very helpful but the park itself was crowded and relatively expensively, normal for California we think. The sites were very close together and lots of traffic. Hookups were good and the paved site was level. It is also right off the highway 101 and has a lot of road noise. The showers/bathrooms were clean and well maintained. The overall experience was OK but we would not stay here again unless we were we had no other choice. The feeling was very commercial-lots of blacktop and over populated. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: August, 2012 - $65.00
Overall Rating:

Good location, not too far to visit Monterey. All asphalt, narrow sites, awning to awning, lots of highway 101 noise. Manager was friendly and accommodating. Not a destination campground but a good base to see the area for a couple of days. We camped at Salinas / Monterey KOA in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Salinas / Monterey KOA

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Campground Map

Are you affiliated with Salinas / Monterey KOA ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your Campground Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;