6.8 Good
http://www.campgroundreviews.com/regions/idaho

Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort)

Stanley, Idaho


12655 Hwy 21
Stanley, Idaho 83278
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 30
Recent Rate: $$$$

Office Hours:

Seasonal Hours: May 17th - October 14th

Monday: 9:00am - 6:00pm
Tuesday: 9:00am - 6:00pm
Wednesday: 9:00am - 6:00pm
Thursday: 9:00am - 6:00pm
Friday: 9:00am - 6:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 6:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am - 6:00pm

Hours above shown for Mountain Time Zone

Add Review

Latitude: 44.24543
Longitude: -115.00420

Elevation: 6377' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • 55+ Only 55+ Only no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly yes
  • Boondocking Boondocking yes
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts ?
  • Dump Station Dump Station no
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup yes
  • Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP)
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • Public Phone Public Phone no
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup no
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi yes
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area ?
  • Propane Available Propane Available no
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar yes
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse ?
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter no
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault no
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access no
  • Playground Playground no
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails ?
  • Rec Room Rec Room ?
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing ?
  • Beach Beach ?
  • Biking Biking ?
  • Boating Boating ?
  • Golf Golf ?
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities ?
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes ?
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf ?
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts ?
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access ?

1 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an Campground totReviews’ member and not the views of CampgroundReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort)" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

17 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an Campground Reviews' member and not the views of CampgroundReviews.com

Review Count: 32
States Visited: 12
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: August, 2019 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

We have been coming to this campground off and on for 15 years. It is now under new ownership and they have started to make positive changes. The previous owners were elderly and clearly had difficulty keeping up. The new owners are young, energetic and very friendly! Interior roads are dirt and sites have gravel. Sites in the lower section have trees and some shade. Uppers section has killer views of the Sawtooth Mountains but no shade. The upper section also needs to have utilities reset to make them more accessible which the owners are going to do next year. Also, there is a 9% grade with gravel surface to get up to the uppers section, so if you have a big motor home you probably wouldn't want to attempt to go up there. The restaurant the previous owners ran is no longer open, but I stayed there to camp, not to eat. The new owners have also reworked the restroom/showers and there are very neat, clean and brand new. We love staying at this campground! We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
20
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

If you love the outdoors there is lots to do in the Stanley area: sightseeing, rafting, kayaking, bicycling, fishing, hiking and more.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Stanley RV, owner at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for the considerate review and great description of camp. We appreciate the kind words and acknowledgement of the work we are putting in around camp to have an amazing place to base camp into exploring the Sawtooths.
Thanks again, and we look forward to hosting you again!

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $30.00
Overall Rating:

FYI: For those of us RVers who frequented Elk Mountain RV Park year after year, we're VERY sad to learn of its closing and sale! Yes, it wasn't the fanciest or the cleanest or had the most level spots or cleanest restrooms and showers. Yes there were weeds and dust to deal with. And the price...$35 per night. More than reasonable! But if that's what you took away from your stay, you missed the best part. Either that or I'm blind as a bat to what the spirit of RVing is all about. Yes, all those things are important, but Elk Mountain had something very special! Something that's worth more than all the superficial B.S. It had character! It had the friendliest people! It was set in one of the most beautiful places in the U.S...the Sawtooth Recreation Area. And the food in the Cafe...to die for! Especially on Wednesday and Saturday nights when they served "Smoked" Prime Rib! People would come from miles around for that Prime Rib...even day trips from Boise...yes, it was that good! And where do you find a Cafe that would serve FREE coffee or tea??? Yes, free! It was Americana at its best. And the owners only wanted their guests to leave with fond memories of a great meal, great camaraderie, and great memories. So now Elk Mountain has sold to new owners and we wish them well. We understand no more Cafe. No more free coffee. No more of that special Elk Mountain character that Jim and Jan and the workers and volunteers brought every day! For those of us who were fortunate enough to have had the experience and kept going back for more year after year, we'll savor those memories! It was really something special! Unfortunately, I fear that it'll just become another RV park run for profit with no character or charm whatsoever. I hope not! Thanks, so glad to have met the owners! God bless! We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Stanley RV, owner at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving a review of the campground and reflecting on the experiences of past year's visits. We too felt the charm of the campground when we toured it with the old owners, and understand that feeling you are looking for.
As you mentioned, there are some infrastructure items to focus on in our first years, but we sure do aim to provide a rememberable and unique experience and not to fall into a category of "just another RV park".
We appreciate the candor and challenge to keep the feel of "Stanley" in the camp!

Review Count: 21
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: June, 2017 - $32.00
Overall Rating:

The spaces are adequate, the staff is friendly, the prices are low, and the on-site restraunt excellent. What else is there? We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
Number 8
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 37
States Visited: 22
Helpful Reviews: 16

Date of Stay: July, 2016 - $27.00
Overall Rating:

Took a "chance" with this park on account of latest review being in 2014? First off the senior owner is very nice as is all of the relations that work at the camp...and there many of them. Unfortunately ALL of their attention seems directed to the campgrounds "cafe" that services breakfasts thru dinner all but Monday's. While we found the food good, it was also very much overpriced. The campground itself was in need of major attention. The "terrace" level with a beautiful view of the mountains was dry and dusty, no shade not grass, and resembled more of a maintenance staging area than a campground. Most of the trailers there appeared to be long-term. I wouldn't store my motorhome there. It is nothing but a maintenance staging area, dry and dusty, with a number of what looked to be full-timers. As for the lower shaded area around the "cafe" a large number of the sites appear longer term possibly workers in the cafe. most of the sites appear to be longer stay campers. Dogs were not kept on leashes and allow to use the entire park as their private bathroom area and nobody seemed to care. Weeds around our hookups were over a foot tall and I pulled many just to get to the water connection. It was like nobody gave any attention, or cared, about what went on outside the "cafe". As for bathrooms/showers they were not what I would label dirty but far from up to my level of cleanliness. Both the individual toilet and shower "bays" we're very "tight"! I believe we stayed in site #12, in a motorhome, and no, we would not stay at this park next time in the Stanley area. This park deserves no more than a 4 rating. We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
12
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Cafe was good but high priced. Smoked prime rib was outstanding for flavor but well overpriced for the portions, $20 and $28 a plate

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort)

Review Count: 22
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 6

Date of Stay: September, 2014 - $27.00
Overall Rating:

This park has a variety of site sizes and types in the lower shaded area...some more level than others. Pads are gravel, no fire pits at individual sites, but a nice central fire pit/grill in a grass area with a large awning over picnic tables. The Pot Belly cafe on-site is very good casual dining. The smoked prime rib offered on Weds & Sat is great. Free laundromat and nice folks make this worth a visit. We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Travel Trailer.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 49
States Visited: 20
Helpful Reviews: 6

Date of Stay: July, 2013 - $24.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed here 9 nights and got one night free. The spaces are a bit tight getting in, but they were helpful with getting you parked. This also means you have close neighbors, which was OK since our friends were on one side and on the other side was a guy who worked; plus we are gone all day hiking and bicycling. The restrooms are good, but the showers could use some regular cleaning. It was quiet and a nice park. Nice and friendly managers. We would stay here again. We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 27
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: June, 2012 - $27.00
Overall Rating:

The RV park is in a beautiful setting, but nothing fancy. The Pot Belly Cafe on site has wonderful food. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in pull through site # 11. No TV reception unless you have satellite. WI-FI was good at our site. Would definitely stay here again. We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 17
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: August, 2011 - $27.00
Overall Rating:

This RV park has great potential, beautiful spots with large, shady pine trees, however, the piles of various "junk" around the park, along with lots of trash (vinyl gloves, cigarette butts, candy wrappers) around our site really took away from the beautiful area of Elk Mountain. We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 29
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: August, 2010 - $28.00
Overall Rating:

Definitely not a resort, spaces small and not very level. Beautiful view of Sawtooth Mountains, great ribs and breakfast in the restaurant. Lots of camping along river even in a 40' motorhome. We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 914
States Visited: 27
Helpful Reviews: 112

Date of Stay: August, 2010 - $30.00
Overall Rating:

We managed to get one of the last two remaining spots on the "terrace". We asked for a terrace spot for the view and satellite compatibility. While I can understand a previous poor review describing the "terrace" as a junk yard. There are some large "leftovers" up there but probably less than 2 years ago. The "terrace" sites are small and quite a few of them are taken by guys in the area for seasonal work. Most of the main level sites looked nice surrounded by tall pines. It also appeared that most of them were taken by extended stay customers. For us, the view of the Sawtooth Mountains was worth putting up with the negatives of the park. We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 33
States Visited: 18
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2010 - $34.00
Overall Rating:

Even with older bathrooms and no cable TV, I give this park a 10 because of the friendly people and the view. I've never had a better view in any campground. Food in the restaurant right on premise was delicious. I ate dinner, lunch, and breakfast and everything was wonderful. I've never had better sausage and eggs in my life. And, don't miss the pie. I ran into a problem with my propane hose and three of the gentleman who either work or own the place didn't hesitate a second to fix it for me. My back up skills are less than acceptable. They didn't hesitate when I told them. The owner, I think, came and backed it right in for me. Great place, great people, and it spread to the guests. I met several who were exceptionally nice. Happiness is contagious, I guess. We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2009 - $26.00
Overall Rating:

This park has two levels, we stayed in the upper level. The lower area has more shade and trees, but the upper level more of a view. The RV spaces are dirt with some weeds, most of the dirt is very powdery. I would think it could be a real muddy mess after a rain or snow melt. The owners were very helpful and exceptionally nice, the restaurant was pretty good and had reasonable prices. Known in the area for their barbecue although we didn't try it. Looked like the locals eat there a lot, always a good sign. I didn't find the showers too inviting so passed on that experience, but then I'm kind of picky. I see one reviewer thought the bathrooms were dirty I didn't think they were any worse than most public restrooms. We leave our computers at home so can't comment on the Wi-Fi. We had a ruptured fuel line and there was a great mechanic who fixed it for us who lives in the RV park during the summer months. We did discover Stanley, at least at this time, has no automotive repair shops or mechanics at all. If you need a mechanic while visiting Stanley ask in the office for Neal, I highly recommend him. Between the only two RV parks in Stanley that have hook ups, Valley Creek Motel And RV Park and Elk Mountain RV Resort, my vote would be the later when hook ups are a priority. Not perfect as RV parks go but keeping in mind for a pretty rustic, undeveloped area, it's not bad. I would stay there again. We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 244
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 36

Date of Stay: August, 2008 - $24.00
Overall Rating:

This is probably one of the worst campgrounds we have stayed at, mainly because they only had room for us on their "terrace" I use that description lightly. it is their parking lot, dump site and place to leave trucks, run down RVs ,etc. You can see the Sawtooth's from up on the "terrace" but do not under any circumstances get a spot there. the restrooms were very dirty, never cleaned while we were there. The Wi-Fi was iffy. we asked for a refund so we could move but they refused. We left anyway. I do not recommend this place. Unfortunately there are few RV parks in the area...you might try one attached to a motel in town or try Sawtooth City. It would be better to stay at any of the lakes in the forest service sites. Good luck. We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 82
States Visited: 29
Helpful Reviews: 6

Date of Stay: July, 2008 - $25.00
Overall Rating:

We were parked directly next to the good restaurant at this campground. As a result we were among the very few who had wifi at our site. Wifi is available in the restaurant. There is considerable work being done to improve the sites at the campground especially on the upper level where there is a great view of the Sawtooth Mountains. Exceptionally friendly owners made this week-long stay more enjoyable. We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 24
States Visited: 13
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: June, 2008 - $24.00
Overall Rating:

First of all, the people who run this park and associated restaurant are wonderful, friendly people. The food in the restaurant, which includes smoked prime rib, is outstanding. There is free laundry and wifi, and the restrooms and showers, located in the same building as the restaurant, were clean and servicable. That all said, unfortunately, the campground and sites themselves are not in very good shape. The sites are all dirt, and very dusty, and most are not too level. The roads are all dusty dirt. The electrical hookups were in terrible shape, and actually looked downright dangerous. The weekend we were there, unfortunately, coincided with an annual marathon type race, and the campground filled up with tent campers and noisy dogs and kids on every available space, including the common areas which were really not campsites. We ended up leaving a day early. The owner apologized and refunded the money willingly and stated that the race was an unusual event and normally the campground was not that over run. He also stated they were improving the infrastructure. We believe he was sincere and will probably give them another try in the future. Again, we really liked the management, and hope they improve the campground and do well. We camped at Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort)

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Campground Map

Are you affiliated with Stanley RV + Camp (formerly Elk Mountain RV Resort) ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your Campground Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;