6.5 Good
http://www.campgroundreviews.com/regions/south-dakota

Spokane Creek

Keystone, South Dakota


24631 Iron Mountain Rd
Keystone, South Dakota 57751
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 66
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 43.83555
Longitude: -103.37718

Elevation: 4413' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • 55+ Only 55+ Only no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly no
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Dump Station Dump Station yes
  • Group Camping Group Camping no
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup no
  • Electric (50 AMP) Electric (50 AMP) no
  • Electric (30 AMP) Electric (30 AMP) yes
  • Sewer Sewer no
  • Public Phone Public Phone no
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup no
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi no
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Propane Available Propane Available ?
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar yes
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse no
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp ?
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip ?
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter yes
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault ?
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access yes
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails ?
  • Rec Room Rec Room no
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing no
  • Beach Beach no
  • Biking Biking ?
  • Boating Boating no
  • Golf Golf no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes no
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf yes
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts yes
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access yes

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an Campground totReviews’ member and not the views of CampgroundReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "Spokane Creek" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

15 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an Campground Reviews' member and not the views of CampgroundReviews.com

CDG

Review Count: 14
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: July, 2019 - $32.00
Overall Rating:

We stayed over the busy 4th of July holiday and campground was full. Staff is very friendly. They work very hard to keep restrooms/showers clean. Spacious but close sites. Cafe on grounds is good! Pool is small but we never had an issue. Very clean, too. No cell and very limited Wifi on public network. We enjoyed our stay here - lots to do very close by. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
34
Site Surface
Grass
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $35.00
Overall Rating:

We had a reunion with 6 camp sites, 4 cabins. The site & facility was decent. The area was beautiful. The service and hospitality was terrible. Very rude, unfriendly, and disrespectful. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
38
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Interior Roads
Tight Turns, Scraping Branches
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Spokane Creek Cabins _ Campground, owner at Spokane Creek responded to this review

Doug, I am sorry that you thought the staff was disrespectful, however, we received several complaints from other guests at our facility about the noise level of your group after quiet time and we had to address the issue with you as you are not the only guests at the park. Also, you used a vacant site without charge for your group activities for a day and a half but then when you were asked to move because the site was rented for the night your group acted inconvenienced and requested we "say please".

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $34.00
Overall Rating:

My family and I camped here for two nights, this is a very nice park for tent camping or small campers/motor homes. I can see where larger vehicles would have troubles, not because of the park, but due to the roads coming in, beautiful drive, but probably not in a large vehicle. The staff was very friendly, and we really enjoyed the restaurant for breakfast. The facilities were all clean, and the scenery is fantastic. If you are vacationing in this area, I would highly recommend this park. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Tent.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
tent area
Site Surface
Grass
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Mostly Shady
Tips for other Campers:

There are so many things to do and see in this area, it would be easy to spend days here. This was my second trip to this area, and I still haven't been able to see all of the area attractions, make sure you have a lot of time to explore.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 6
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: August, 2013 - $16.00
Overall Rating:

We camped here from Friday, August 30, 2013 to Monday, September 2, 2013 with our son and his family. The campground is quiet, clean, and peaceful. We enjoyed swimming in the clean, in-ground pool (although if it were covered at night with a solar cover, that would have helped the VERY cold temp a lot), mini-golf, endless hiking opportunities, and a campfire each night. The scenery can't be beat! Camp store has limited supplies, swimming accessories, ice, firewood, souvenirs, and lots of t-shirts for sale. There is a small deli attached for an 'on-the-go' meal. We enjoyed this camping experience very much. We camped here in a motorhome and our son has a 5th Wheel. Note: The $16 per night camping fee was military discount. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Spokane Creek

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: July, 2011 - $39.00
Overall Rating:

We camped in our 16' travel trailer for two nights. We had asked for a shady spot since there was a heat wave but when we arrived we found we were exposed to the sun most of the day. We were parked up against a hill with tent campers across from us along a creek. The air was full of mosquitoes both early morning and evenings. While the staff was friendly and helpful, the bathroom and shower facilities were primitive, well worn and dirty. In addition, the park had only three showers in the single bathroom facilities for each sex, not nearly enough with all the people staying at the camp. In addition, instead of having a separate laundry, two washers and dryers were in each of the bathrooms, two for the women's and two for the men. With the washers and dryers running, and the heat generated, the bathrooms were almost unusable. We would NOT stay at this RV park again. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2011 - $44.00
Overall Rating:

This was a nice site to stay in. Not super close to Mt. Rushmore but close enough, and it wasn't too far to Crazy Horse. The roads into the park can be quite interesting in the dark if you use a GPS or iPhone for navigation, taking you through 8-10 miles of tight twisty mountain roads. The sites are all angled and back in and can easily accommodate a long truck and trailer. The only detractors are a complete lack of cell service on AT&T and poor Internet connectivity, but if you want peace and quiet, or don't have kids who need to be "plugged-in", it's pretty nice. One final note: We were in my wife's home town of Minot, ND prior to this stay, and ended up staying an extra three days to help evacuate prior to the flood. The park we would have been at for those days was very understanding and accommodating allowing us to cancel our reservations without penalty. We contacted this park several days in advance to explain our situation but they were completely unwilling to accommodate us with a shift in dates or cancellation on our prepaid reservation. If you make the reservation be prepared to use it or lose it. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 177
States Visited: 44
Helpful Reviews: 24

Date of Stay: June, 2011 - $17.00
Overall Rating:

A small campground near Mt. Rushmore. Price reflects Passport America rate for a W/E site. Good Wi-Fi. Clean showers and restrooms. As per previous posts, the road in is twisty. We would stay here again. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 4
States Visited: 3
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2010 - $24.00
Overall Rating:

This was a nice place to stay on our visit to Mount Rushmore. It is close to Custer State Park, Mt Rushmore, downtown Keystone, and Rapid City. Please make note of the size of your motorhome or travel trailer. There is one road going into the area that is very narrow. Call ahead and ask for other directions even if you are not sure. The hosts were friendly, they had a gas station, and a place to eat. The mini golf needs repaired and the pool could have been cleaned out a bit. Overall a nice place to stay. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Travel Trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 9
States Visited: 4
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2009 - $15.00
Overall Rating:

This is a very pretty park about 9 miles from Keystone-its important to access and egress using Hwy 40 and Playhouse Rd rather than the challenging 16A. About 1/2 the sites are tents and popups so the bathrooms/showers are busy. No mobile phone service and Wi-Fi was available only at the store/office. About 15 of the RV sites have full services with remainder having water and electric. We stayed on the C2C rate and enjoyed our stay as both the employees and campers were friendly and helpful. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2009 - $25.00
Overall Rating:

This is a nice place to stay. It is remote but that only adds to the experience of the Black Hills. The road in is very scenic and although steep and narrow it is worth the drive. Again, it is in the Black Hills. The staff are very nice and helpful. The facilities are well maintained and there's hot water if you shower at night instead of morning. No mosquitos when we stayed in July. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 12
States Visited: 8
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2009 - $18.00
Overall Rating:

The road in is definitely something you want to drive during daylight. The park is very family friendly. We stayed here one night but it would been better if we had stayed for a few days. The store is very impressive and the wi-fi is only accessible form around the store area. The showers and laundry were always busy. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 13
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 3

Date of Stay: June, 2009 - $34.00
Overall Rating:

First off the road in is a nightmare if you are in a motorhome. I drove though rock tunnels that were only as wide as my rig. We get there and they don't have sewer, only one restroom with three showers for the whole campground, there are no fire rings in the row they park RV's, no satellite dish coverage where they park the RV's but they do have a pay phone because you don't get service on your cell or air card. I would never stay here again and I would never recommend this place to anyone. We had paid reservations so no refund for early departure so we had to stay a week but only lasted 3 days. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 31
States Visited: 15
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: May, 2009 - $28.00
Overall Rating:

Very remote from the towns and the tourist type sites to visit. Winding narrow roads to get to and from the campground, and some not fit at all for driving on in a RV. Carefully check your route in, and better yet contact campground for routing. Wi-fi works at/near camp store, not from all sites. No cell phone reception, but they have a pay phone. 30 amp sites with water, some with sewer drop. Once you are in the campground it is very nice, scenic, and well maintained. If you are OK with the remoteness it is a nice place to camp. Very nice tent sites and cabins as well. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 40
States Visited: 18
Helpful Reviews: 5

Date of Stay: August, 2007 - $38.00
Overall Rating:

Better than average place. Very quiet, but it's very remote. The owners are friendly and helpful. Facilities aren't modern, but everything works and is kept very clean, from the bathrooms/showers to the laundry and the grounds. Inside all sites are easy to access. Plenty of room between sites, too. Only thing that needs to be highlighted with bright lights is the road to the park: The one that got picked by our GPS navigation had 12 ft high and 12 ft wide tunnels. Pretty drive, but no way will any big rig go that route. Plus, the switchbacks are 270 to 360 degree turns. The big rig road goes through Hermosa. Best to call the camp and verify your route and rig size. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Fifth Wheel.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 3
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2007 - $35.00
Overall Rating:

The park was hard to get to. The mosquitoes were terrible. We couldn't get out of the Rv without being eaten alive. When we asked for a refund they refused to give us one due to a 15 day cancellation policy. This was the worst site we have ever stayed at because it was hard to get to. Because of the standing water, the site was full of bugs. This was not a bad year for bugs, the only place we encountered them was at this campground and with in 5 minutes I had over 7 bites. The worst part was that the campground is described at being between Keystone and Hill City, but it is up the mountain 12 miles. I felt their ad was very deceiving. We camped at Spokane Creek in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near Spokane Creek

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Campground Map

Are you affiliated with Spokane Creek ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your Campground Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;