5.7 Average
http://www.campgroundreviews.com/regions/utah

The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park)

Hatch, Utah


594 US Hwy 89 at Mile Marker 117
Hatch, Utah 84735
Phone: Click to view

Sites: 63
Recent Rate: $$$$

Add Review

Latitude: 37.66077
Longitude: -112.42847

Elevation: 6908' (approx.)
Park Features
  • Pull-thru Sites Pull-thru Sites yes
  • Pets Allowed Pets Allowed yes
  • Big Rig Access Big Rig Access yes
  • Tent Camping Tent Camping yes
  • 55+ Only 55+ Only no
  • Kid Friendly Kid Friendly yes
  • Boondocking Boondocking no
  • Cabins / Cottages / Yurts Cabins / Cottages / Yurts yes
  • Dump Station Dump Station ?
  • Group Camping Group Camping yes
  • Water Spigot Water Spigot yes
Hookups
  • Full Hookup Full Hookup yes
  • Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP) Electric (30 & 50 AMP)
  • Sewer Sewer yes
  • Public Phone Public Phone no
  • Water Water yes
  • Cable/Sat. TV Hookup Cable/Sat. TV Hookup no
Connectivity
  • WiFi WiFi no
  • ATT Cellular Provider ATT
  • Verizon Cellular Provider Verizon
  • Sprint Cellular Provider Sprint
  • T-Mobile Cellular Provider T-Mobile
Amenities
  • Restrooms Restrooms yes
  • Showers Showers yes
  • Laundry Facilities Laundry Facilities yes
  • Camp Store Camp Store yes
  • Pet Area Pet Area yes
  • Propane Available Propane Available yes
  • Cafe / Snack Bar Cafe / Snack Bar yes
  • Clubhouse Clubhouse yes
  • Firewood Available Firewood Available yes
  • Group Kitchen Group Kitchen no
  • Horse Camp Horse Camp no
  • Landing Strip Landing Strip no
  • Picnic Shelter Picnic Shelter no
  • Restrooms: vault Restrooms: vault ?
Recreation
  • Pool Access Pool Access no
  • Playground Playground yes
  • Recreational Trails Recreational Trails yes
  • Rec Room Rec Room no
  • Casino Casino no
  • Fishing Fishing yes
  • Beach Beach no
  • Biking Biking yes
  • Boating Boating no
  • Golf Golf no
  • Gym/Workout Facilities Gym/Workout Facilities no
  • Horseshoes Horseshoes no
  • Mini-Golf Mini-Golf no
  • Outdoor Courts Outdoor Courts no
  • Pickleball Pickleball ?
  • Water Access Water Access yes

0 Questions & Answers

These questions and answers are the opinion of an Campground totReviews’ member and not the views of CampgroundReviews.com

Ask fellow campers about "The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park)" and nearby attractions.

Review Details

Ratings overview

30 Reviews

These reviews are the opinion of an Campground Reviews' member and not the views of CampgroundReviews.com

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 2
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2019 - $45.00
Overall Rating:

Very nice for location (no trees), bathrooms, rec room and other amenities are all new. Hosts were great and location good for many of Southern Utah places to visit. WiFi was good. We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Motorhome.

Site Details

Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 32
States Visited: 19
Helpful Reviews: 9

Date of Stay: June, 2018 - $42.00
Overall Rating:

The campground is under new ownership. The hosts are great (parents of the owner) and were very helpful with directions, places to see, roads to travel, access to ice, etc. The power, water, and sewer connections are all new; they are also spaced at double of their former spacing. The result is that each camper has lots of elbow room. The water tasted good. The bathrooms are dated and in need of some updating. However, with full hookups, that was less of an issue. There are no other amenities at the campground, but we were there for the national parks and not camping. The campground is about 12 minutes from Bryce Canyon NP. It is very easy to get around the campground and the sites are huge. We saw a big diesel pusher with a toad that was able to fit into a pull thru without a problem. We would stay here again. We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
14
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Quite a bit longer than my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

The shuttles run every 10-15 minutes in Bryce. Highly recommend parking at the visitor center or the overflow lot across the from visitor center and taking the shuttle as needed to each of the areas of interest in the park. The shuttles are free and very convenient.

2 campers found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $36.00
Overall Rating:

May 2018. Nice park newly renovated, along creek very nice setting , but we opted for a pull through site. Stayed 3 nights, made it to Bryce and Zion Parks from here. Lacks trees but understood that it had pretty much just been opened up, sites were big and included 20, 30 and 50 amp service at all of its spaces. I felt safe, no permanent residents. Bathrooms, showers and laundry clean. Grass starting to come back but not fully yet. Staying here allowed us to park and leave trailer for the day and have a quite evening when we returned. We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
B19
Site Surface
Gravel, Grass
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
20 Amp, 30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 11
States Visited: 7
Helpful Reviews: 2

Date of Stay: May, 2018 - $36.00
Overall Rating:

This review is all about the site you select. There is a general RV area which is open and level. Apparently used to be twice the sites in the same space and they've opened it up. But there is no shade and it is laid out like many RV parks in that section. New hook ups, other improvements under way and good views are a plus. If I were there, I'd give it a 7. However, they have sites along the river that are WONDERFUL. While they don't have sewer connections, they do have electric (30 amp) and water. We used the very clean rest rooms and showers sometimes and made 8 days without having to dump (we do have 45 gal tanks). But the riverside sites are so relaxing with unimpeded views to the back of the plateau that Bryce is on. You can't go wrong with one of those. But there aren't many so reserve in advance! Then there's the manager. Managing the property for his kids. Great guy - don't miss breakfast with the manager. We had a wonderful stay visiting Bryce, Zion, Cedar Breaks, Kodachrome State Park as well as taking several backcountry rides and many great hikes. We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
R7
Site Surface
Grass
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
No

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

If you are coming here you already have apretty good idea of what you are going to do. BUT - don't miss the walk on the Rim Trail in Bryce starting from Bryce Point and going to Sunset Point

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park)

Review Count: 14
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: April, 2018 - $49.00
Overall Rating:

Just don't even think about staying here. Once is enough for us. The sites don't live up to the description on the website. Upper sites are nothing but a crummy gravel parking lot. Lower sites by the tiny Sevier River are horribly uneven. We reserved a specific site by the river, but the owner "forgot" we were coming and told some tent campers to take any site they wanted so they took ours and of course weren't around when we got there. We ended up in a site with no hookups although we had paid for water and electricity, and no offer of a refund. Don't bother staying in Hatch, no place to eat, no place to buy diesel and no good place to stay in an RV. We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Grass
Site Type
Other
Site Space
Quite a bit longer (plenty of space) for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Interior Roads
Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Bill Rakozy, manager at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) responded to this review

The Riverside Ranch RV Park and Motel
Wow, tuff crowd! I apologize to this individual for our property not meeting his/her expectations. We have spent over $150,000 in the past 24 months to improve and renovate this RV Park. We laid new 30/50 amp electric, sewer, water and the RV space has been increased to 45’ wide and 60’ long. It’s all underground and can’t be seen, but it is critical to a successful RV stay. The bathrooms and showers are sparkling clean and we continue to work toward adding improvements daily. This summer we will install paver bricks to form a new patio and fire pit area for evening camp fires. A load of gravel is expected today to add to our road base. It’s a work in progress. Upgrading our river RV sites is Phase II, but is very useable in it’s present condition. An RV Hostess is in place and we are ready to serve you! We aren’t Disneyland, but we are working as hard as their staff does.

Review Count: 14
States Visited: 6
Helpful Reviews: 4

Date of Stay: October, 2017 - $29.00
Overall Rating:

Just off Highway US-89. Level pull-thru sites, quite wide. The setting is beautiful - the red rock bluffs provide a stunning backdrop - and a creek wanders through the property. The electric worked well. We had full hook-ups with 50 amp service. Got satellite reception easily. The park staff were very pleasant and helpful. The park was quiet. Road noise from US-89 is not bothersome. A perfect location for seeing the incredible sites in the area. We would definitely stay here again. We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
A-8
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

The Red Canyon Bike Trail is a great ride! There is more to do in the area than time permits. We were here a week and left knowing we wanted to return at some point. Easy day trips to Zion, Bryce, Kodachrome and Red Canyon. Cedar Breaks is a beautiful park without a lot of visitors. Great hiking.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 130
States Visited: 31
Helpful Reviews: 77

Date of Stay: September, 2017 - $43.00
Overall Rating:

We were not as impressed as other recent reviewers. Yes, the 50 amp electric, water, and sewer were all good, but you expect that. The campground itself had limited patchy grass, but mostly it was all dusty gravel. You are next to a highway so there is a fair amount of road noise, but that does quiet down during the night. The sites were mostly long enough for big rigs and level enough (a few sites had some slope). They were decently wide which was nice. There is zero shade, and since apparently the sites were recently redone, I don't understand why they weren't oriented facing the opposite direction so the rigs could provide shade on the patio side. Very dog friendly and dogs are allowed to run free in the very large open field and swim in the stream which was great. Good Verizon and AT&T coverage. Open sky for satellite reception. We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
6
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt, Sand
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Cedar Breaks national monument is amazing and a must visit. Best Friends Animal Society is also very cool and we highly recommend a visit there.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 1
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: September, 2017 - $50.00
Overall Rating:

What a difference new owners make. We have been staying there since 2009 except 2016. The place is so neat and clean. Grass in the park area is mowed the riverbank is clean and leveled. The camp hosts are attentive and make sure you have a wonderful experience. The fifth wheel spots are larger and level, power dependable and good clean water. When we came down the highway and got our first view we thought we were at the wrong place We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
7
Site Surface
Gravel, Sand, Grass
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my 5th wheel and truck (I didn't have to disconnect
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Tips for other Campers:

Fishing, ATV trails in abundance. Many beautiful photo opps. Wildlife viewing. Temperature 80's in the day 50's at night. Bring your groceries Hatch has a mini mart but no grocery store. A few places to eat out and the food was very good. They are pet friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 2
States Visited: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2017 - $30.00
Overall Rating:

Would disregard all reviews prior to 2014-2015, new owners have purchased it since early 2016 and have done a terrific job in upgrading this park. The staff are very courteous and go above and beyond to make sure guests are taken care of. The Riverside is located close to Bryce, Red Canyon and other attractions in this area, it works great for a central point to camp. We had the extreme pleasure of meeting the camp hosts, they have to be the hardest working camp hosts you will ever meet, they must work 10-12 hours a day and take true pride in the resort, they are definitely the foundation for the success of the Park. The owners of the Riverside hit the lottery with camp hosts. We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Back in
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Some Shade
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 66
States Visited: 10
Helpful Reviews: 22

Date of Stay: April, 2017 - $32.00
Overall Rating:

Under new ownership, Riverside Ranch is a very special place to camp for access to Bryce and Zion National Parks. Level and spacious rv pads with sewer up top on gravel and grass site on the river below. The tent sites are also very nice near the river. We camped here in a 37' 5th wheel with 2 dogs who enjoyed their stay as much as we did. We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
4
Site Surface
Sand, Grass
Site Type
Other
Site Space
Just long enough for my 5th wheel (had to disconnect)
Campsite Features
Fire Ring, Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 420
States Visited: 51
Helpful Reviews: 29

Date of Stay: October, 2016 - $1.00
Overall Rating:

We were the last group before the winter closing and a stated rebuild. Hope they do, as many sites had badly wired electric. Some had no water. To put it nicely, this place was a mess. The sites were pull thru's on dirt but they were easy in and out and somewhat level. The road from the office/old restaurant/parking lot to the rv parking is short but steep and very rutted. Hopefully that will also get fixed. We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Interior Roads
Poor Conditions
Tow Vehicle Parking
Yes, Convenient
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Bill Rakozy, manager at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) responded to this review

In the Fall of 2015, we purchased 16 incredibly beautiful acres on a blue-ribbon trout stream in Hatch, UT. Nature has richly blessed us with a business with unlimited potential. However, we accepted this motel, RV park and campground "as is"... warts and all.

As we opened for our first season in the Spring of 2016, as soon as we turned on the water and electricity, we discovered we had issues to deal with and it would take some time and and money to sort things out. As increasing demand was placed on the electrical system, our customers began reporting low voltage, circuits not grounded or not working properly. To remedy this situation, we decided to completely replace the RV park electric system. Not only install new electric cable and pedestals, but increase the space to 35', level all spaces and lay down new gravel.

Unfortunately, the last RV caravan group in October was book by the previous owners a year in advance. This group of 20 RV's departed October 15 and we began trenching and installing a new system the very next day.

When we open in 2017, RV guests will be greeted by a completely renovated RV park! We will have an RV host with an office in the immediate RV park in order to attend to the needs of our guests. We will be capable of handling the largest RV rigs with 35' spacing, frost-free water hydrants, a choice of 50 or 30 amp electric and modern septic connections.

We apologize for the unavoidable inconvenience which our services did not provide provide to this group. This era is behind us and look forward to serving our future guests with first class RV park facilities in 2017.

Come and join us!

Review Count: 35
States Visited: 9
Helpful Reviews: 9

Date of Stay: August, 2016 - $32.00
Overall Rating:

We are not sure this is a place to stay for even one night. Arrived in afternoon, and no one was there. Office was closed and sign said they would be back later. No one showed until early evening. The roads in the park are un-kept. The main road into the park is uneven gravel. Weeds are 2 feet tall. Half of the sites are taped off because something is wrong with the electric. Very few 50amp sites. They advertise 70ft pull-thru's, but my motorhome and dinghy run 60ft, and we took up all the space. You will get noise from Hwy 89. No cable and Wi-Fi was marginal. Drive past this place and keep on moving!! We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Motorhome.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
B Loop
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my motorhome and a towed vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp, 50 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Very Close
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Nothing on site. Need to drive to restaurants and anything else. 25 miles from Bryce, and even further to Zion.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 5
States Visited: 5
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2016 - $32.00
Overall Rating:

This park is clearly being renovated by new owners, who are very accommodating. There are sites by a lovely little river and lots of large pull-thrus. Level sites. Near to Bryce. We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
21
Site Surface
Gravel
Site Type
Pull through
Site Space
Long enough for my travel trailer and tow vehicle
Campsite Features
Picnic Table
Power Hookups
30 Amp
Sewer Connection
Yes

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Spacious
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tow Vehicle Parking
No
Tips for other Campers:

Nice park to walk around.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 62
States Visited: 11
Helpful Reviews: 8

Date of Stay: May, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:

Older park that needs some TLC. New owners are working to get it upgraded as profits allow. Stayed here 4 days. Park is downhill from the road and pretty quiet. Great view of the river and mountains to the east. Restaurant right at top of hill by entrance. Stayed here because of proximity to Bryce and Zion, although it is about 30 miles back to Zion. Sites are gravel and long and a few puddles in the road when it rains. Easy to get around in this park. We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Travel Trailer.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Number
B22
Site Surface
Gravel, Dirt
Campsite Features
Picnic Table

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Was this review helpful? Yes No Undo

Review Count: 51
States Visited: 24
Helpful Reviews: 20

Date of Stay: April, 2016 - $35.00
Overall Rating:

A little overpriced for what you get, but you can't beat the location if your propose is to visit Bryce and Zion. New owner sprucing up both the park and restaurant next door. Some slots have 50A, some 30A. Wi-Fi worked reasonably well. Bath house clean but need ADA toilet stalls as they are too cramped for those with issues. View is very nice. RV spaces are easy to use. We camped at The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) in a Fifth Wheel.

Value
Clean Restrooms
Service
Clean Showers
Cleanliness

Site Details

Campsite
Site Surface
Dirt

Campground Details

Space Between Lots
Nearby
Sun & Foliage
Sunny Open
Tips for other Campers:

Anyone staying here must be visiting one of the nearby national parks. Both Bryce and Zion well worth the visit, but Zion very crowded even during early spring months. Bryce was nearest and least crowded.

1 camper found this review helpful. Do you? Yes No Undo

Featured Campgrounds Near The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park)

Folks who viewed this campground also viewed:

Campground Map

Are you affiliated with The Riverside Ranch (formerly Riverside Resort & RV Park) ?

Register below to access FREE and enhanced features.

ENHANCEMENTS INCLUDE:

Access Icon

Expanded Access & Listings

Access to marketing tools, ability respond to reviews and monitor performance as well as expanded listings.

Page Insights Icon

View Page Insights & Stats

Essential Marketing resources, page insights, daily reports, setup and manage notifications of newly posted reviews.

Reviews Icon

Manage your reviews

Review and respond to customer feedback, post review replies.

Manage Icon

Manage your Campground Reviews Page

Expand your listing, Add photos and videos, update business details and more.

Helpful Tools Icon

Helpful Tools

Access the Help Center. Business development tools, forms and other tools to encourage your campers to post and promote your park. Widgets and Badges for use on your Park website.


We're continuing to improve our Campground Owner Management system and more enhancements are coming soon. Features subject to change.

;
;